Skip to content

Meeting Cancelled?

26 September 2012

Yesterday when I went to the Abingdon Community Council meeting, I learned that today there was a meeting of the Harford County Council. Sure enough, there was the agenda posted on the Harford County government website. So imagine our surprise at 7:30 when my mom and I went to 212 South Bond Street and found the place dark and no one there. A guard came to the door and opened it.

“Is there a meeting today?” I asked.
“No,” he replied.
Had I gone to the wrong address? “It said on the Harford County website that there was a meeting today, so I came here. Do you know if tonight’s meeting is being held somewhere else?” I asked.

“No,” he replied.

Very strange. I rushed over to the library to check the website again to see if a different address was given. Imagine my shock when today’s meeting was not listed at all – instead the date was changed to October 23!

I spoke to Jeff, who had told me about the meeting in the first place. “They cancelled it today at 11:00 saying that there was not enough on the agenda,” he said. He had tried to contest this, but apparently to no avail.

At least the website should have noted that the meeting was cancelled.

From → Civics

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

