Skip to content

honeysuckles

6 June 2013

So the honeysuckles are back … these are growing near the edge of the open green slope around the corner where I walk. I have been walking up and down that slope for years, maybe decades. Such a nice incline. And one of the few places one can walk backwards downhill, getting a welcome stretch. I think I first discovered that while walking on campus at Johns Hopkins … a path from the Presidents Garden, if I recall correctly.

Well, I walked up and down that slope around the corner while I was pregnant as well … and when my doula asked me where I would like to take my baby after birth, I told her about the honeysuckles growing there. During labour she would remind me “think of the honeysuckles.”

A week after she was born, however, we went to that grassy slope, and the honeysuckles were gone! All of the growth near the edge of the slope was gone.

Today I saw them again. Hope they will stay for a while.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

